Home » News » SRM Medical College Hosts IPSCON 2023, Fostering Innovation and Collaboration in Pharmacology

SRM Medical College Hosts IPSCON 2023, Fostering Innovation and Collaboration in Pharmacology

SRM Medical College Hospital and Research Centre, the Department of Pharmacology, SRM Center for Clinical Trials & Research, and SRM College of Pharmacy proudly organized the 53rd Annual Conference of the Indian Pharmacological Society – IPSCON 2023. This event served as a platform to unite prominent researchers, scientists, academicians, and industry professionals to exchange insights, discoveries, and advancements in the dynamic field of pharmacology.

Theme: Transformation Through Innovation and Research, the conference centered around the pivotal role of innovation and research in driving transformation within academic institutions and the pharmaceutical industry.

Presidential Address by Dr. P. Sathyanarayanan:

Dr. P. Sathyanarayanan, Pro-Chancellor (Academics), SRMIST, emphasized the relevance of the conference theme. He highlighted India’s significant contribution to the global pharmaceutical landscape, underlining the nation’s role as a major producer of vaccines and generic medicines.
He articulated SRM’s commitment to establishing a Center of Excellence in Pharmacology, integrating various facets to provide comprehensive solutions. He also underscored SRM’s efforts in improving COVID-19 experiments based on positive feedback received.

Distinguished Guests :

  • Dr. C. Muthamizhchelvan, Vice Chancellor, SRMIST
  • Lt. Col (Dr.) A. Ravikumar, Pro Vice-Chancellor (MHS)
  • Dr. S. Ponnusamy, Registrar, SRMIST

Chief guest Addresses by Dr. T. S. Surendran, Chairman, Sankara Nethralaya, In his Address he highlighted the untapped potential for extensive collaboration between the industry and academia in India for driving innovation and research in the field of pharmacology.

Other Guests:

  • Prof. Dr. Y. K. Gupta, President, AIIMS
  • Prof. Dr. Shiv Prakash, President, IPS
  • Dr. B. Balakumar, General Secretary, IPS
  • Dr. Satyajit Mohapatra, Director of SRM Centre for Clinical Trial Research
  • Dr. R. Jamuna Rani, Head of the Department of Pharmacology, shared their valuable insights.

Dr. T.R. Paarivendhar Award:
The conference witnessed the distribution of the prestigious Dr. T.R. Paarivendhar Award, recognizing individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of pharmacology.

The 53rd Annual IPSCON 2023 proved to gather the minds, fostering collaboration, and inspiring advancements in pharmacology. SRM Medical College remains at the forefront of driving innovation and excellence in pharmaceutical research and education.